May 10, 2021 – Congratulations to all students who received awards at the 2021 Student Leadership Awards Ceremony, which was held virtually on May 6. You can watch the full ceremony here.

The Student Leadership Awards recognize the leadership, impact, and service our students contribute to the campus and the local community.

Massasoit Key Award Recipients:

  • Oladimeji Akere
  • Amara Bangura
  • Donovan Boyd
  • Brandon J. Spitz

Formally known as the Green Key Award, this award was established in 1968 as an honors society to recognize those students who exhibit exemplary leadership and unselfish service to both the college and our surrounding communities. This year’s recipients all assumed leadership positions in areas such as student government, student organization, college governance, and peer leadership. They each receive a Massasoit Key Award keychain and certificate.

Outstanding Student Senator Award Recipients:

  • Cindy Nalani Mack
  • Mariam Arif

Ubuntu Scholars Passion for Action Award Recipient:

  • Yandell Estime

Presented to a member of the Ubuntu Scholars program who epitomizes selflessness, volunteerism, consistent engagement, campus leadership, and overall brotherhood.

CHOICES Certificate of Excellence Recipients:

  • Lunhide Amazan
  • Cynthia Contreras
  • Eileen Osborne
  • Cristine Sullivan

Awarded to students who have achieved academic excellence and demonstrated leadership skills in the Choices Program. 

LATCH Recognition Award Recipients:

  • Abigail Castillo
  • Zachary Adams
  • Joshua Keith

Latch students who are dedicated, hardworking, and caring and supportive of their fellow students at Massasoit. They lift others up and make Massasoit a wonderful place to learn and work.

Theresa M. Smith Memorial Award Recipient:

  • Maxwell Frost

Given in memory of Theresa Smith, a courageous student who strove for success while battling a severe illness. Each year the award is given to a LATCH student who represents all that Theresa stood for.  

ARC Peer Tutor Distinction Award

  • Kevin DeNicola

The very first ARC Peer Tutor Distinction Award was given to recognize a tutor who went above and beyond the required role in assisting students.

Graduating / Transferring Student Senators:

  • Oladimeji Akere
  • Mariam Arif
  • Mitchell E. Hermenau
  • Cindy Nalani Mack

A special thanks to these students for their leadership and service to Massasoit!

Student Trustee Elect 2021-2022:

  • Brandon J. Spitz

Congratulations again to all! We would also like to thank all of our Student Leadership Awards Committee members for their efforts to make sure that these incredible students get the recognition they deserve.